Stephanie Linus emerges chairperson of Oscars submission committee

A popular actress and filmmaker, Stephanie Linus, has been announced as the chairperson of the Nigerian Official Selection Committee for the Best International Feature Film category of the prestigious Academy Awards, popularly known as the Oscars.

Recall that the founder and former chairperson of the committee, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, recently stepped down from the position.

The newly reconstituted members of the NOSC also include the Managing Director of the Nigerian Film Corporation, Chidia Maduekwe; the President of the Directors’ Guild of Nigeria, Victor Okhai; veteran actress, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde; former President of DGN, Andy Amenechi; theatre practitioner, Yibo Koko; and a writer and director, Izu Ojukwu.

Other members are cinematographer, Adetokunbo Odubawo, aka DJ Tee; filmmaker, Emem Isong; director Dimeji Ajibola; writer and director, Jude Idada; director John Njamah; actress, Meg Otanwa; and Ngozi Okafor.

The new team will be responsible for collecting, screening, and voting on entries to represent Nigeria in the IFF category.

Adidas suffers heavy loss in Q1 as Kanye split weighs

In a statement sent to The PUNCH, it was stated that the new members would bring their diverse creative portfolios into the dynamics of selecting the best film from Nigeria for the IFF category.

The IFF (formerly known as the Best Foreign Language) Award is presented annually by the Academy to a feature-length film produced outside the United States that contains 50 per cent or more of non-English dialogue.

The Oscars also requires that submitted films must meet other criteria, including accurate English subtitles, shooting formats, and theatrical releases.

Source link

Related posts

Hilda Baci extends cook-a-thon to 100 hours


Neo Fest to celebrate music diversity


FULL LIST: 2023 Headies Award Winners 


Leave a Comment