Meet the five justices to determine Atiku, Obi’s petitions against Tinubu

The Presidential Election Petition Court in May, commenced hearing the election petitions filed by five candidates in the last presidential poll that saw the emergence of Bola Tinubu as winner.

The candidates are challenging Tinubu’s emergence, and the five-man panel is expected to hear the petitions and dispense justice accordingly.

PUNCH reports that the Registrar, Court of Appeal, Umar Bangari, had confirmed to our correspondent that September 6 had been fixed for the judgment.

This report examines the profiles of the five justices who are members of the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal

Justice Tsammani:

Haruna Tsammani, 64 was appointed a Justice of the appeal court in 2010. He was called to the Bar after attending the Nigerian Law School, Lagos in 1983. He was appointed a high court judge in Bauchi State on September 17, 1998.

Tsammani is not new to electoral tribunal sittings. In December 2015, he was part of the five-man panel of the Appeal Court that dismissed an appeal instituted by a former governor of Oyo State, Rashidi Ladoja, against the election of the late governor, Abiola Ajimobi.

Similarly, in 2019, Tsammani wrote the lead judgment for an election petition submitted by Ajimobi, who contested the decision of the 2019 Election Petition Tribunal, which on November 19, of that same year, confirmed Kola Balogun of the Peoples Democratic Party as the winner of the senatorial election for Oyo State.

PSG suffer another blow in home defeat to Lyon

Ajimobi’s petition was rejected by Tsammani, who, in the lead judgment noted that the petition lacked merit.

He served as the chairman of the three-man panel that granted Obi and Atiku’s applications to serve Tinubu their petitions by substituted means.

He also presided over the Value Added Tax case between the Rivers State Government and the Federal Government. He is ranked 12th on the senior hierarchy list of the Court of Appeal.


Justice Stephen Jonah Adah:

The 66-year-old Justice is from the Asaba Division of the Court of Appeal. He graduated from the Nigerian Law School in 1982 and hails from Kogi State.

Adah was appointed as a judge of the Federal High Court on November 12, 1998, and was part of the justices promoted to the Appeal Court in November 2012.

One of his landmark judgments was delivered in an appeal filed by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission in 2020 against a trial court’s decision, which partially upheld the no-case submission filed by former President Goodluck Jonathan’s cousin, Robert Azibaola.

Adah led the panel that affirmed Ifeanyi Ubah as a senator in Enugu State after he was sacked over alleged certificate forgery.

He also led the panel that affirmed Valentine Ozigbo as the PDP governorship candidate for the Anambra governorship election in 2022.

Ekiti couple, others in police net for cultism, other offences

He is ranked 22nd on the senior list of the Court of Appeal.

Justice Bolaji-Yusuf:

She is the only female justice in the tribunal was born on August 7, 1959.

She hails from Oyo State, where she started her education at Oranyan Grammar School between 1972 and 1973, before proceeding to the Breman Asikuma Secondary School, Central Region, Ghana, between 1973 and 1976.

Bolaji-Yusuf attended the Obafemi Awolowo University between 1979 and 1983 and later, the Nigerian Law School from 1983 to 1984.

She was appointed as a justice in the Oyo State High Court on January 30, 1997, where she delivered major judgments.

She was appointed to the Court of Appeal on March 24, 2014.

One of her lead judgments was delivered during the hearing of an N5.6bn pension scam in Oyo State.

The case involved the EFCC and 12 other persons in the Oyo State civil service.

She was on the panel that affirmed that the candidates of the Godwin Obaseki-led faction, were the authentic ones to participate in the Edo State 2023 elections.

She ranks 31st on the senior hierarchy list of the Court of Appeal.


Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo:

The Bayelsa-State-born justice is from Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area of the state. Born in 1965, Ugo began his education at the State school, Igbedi in Bayelsa State from 1972 to 1978.

Threads records 100million users in four days

He proceeded to the Government Secondary School, Asoama, Sabagreia in Bayelsa State from 1977 to 1982. He attended the University of Calabar, where he studied law from 1985 to 1989, and later attended the Nigerian Law School, Lagos in 1990.

Justice Ugo was appointed as a Justice of the High Court of Bayelsa State in March 2006. He became an appellate court justice in March 2014 and ranks 44th on the seniority list of the Court of Appeal.


Justice Mohammed Abba Bello:

The 62-year-old jurist from Kano State attended the Nigerian Law School in 1985.

In 2010, he was appointed to the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory. He presided over the Nasarawa State Governorship Election Tribunal in 2019.

David Ombugadu, the PDP governorship candidate in the general election of 2019, had filed a suit against INEC and Governor Abdullahi Sule of the All Progressive Congress.

However, Justice Mohammed rejected the petition on the grounds that it lacked merit, noting that the petitioner’s claims of excessive voting and electoral violence could not be substantiated.

He is ranked 71st on the seniority list of the Court of Appeal.

Source link

Related posts

Messi takes decision on future, to join bottom-placed US club


Aliko Dangote varsity adopts CBN’s e-naira for tuition payment


Enugu gov declares end to sit-at-home, begs for Nnamdi Kanu’s release


Leave a Comment